What’s in a name?

One of the best and most fun ways to make genealogy discoveries is the share with others.  Some of my best finds have been through distant cousins that I’ve met or chatted with online and many more have been made through family tree connections on Ancestry.com.

old-22832_640

Recently, I found a 4th cousin living in the next town over who had a binder full of information to share on our common ancestors, the Denton family of Goochland, Virginia.  I also met in person one of my father’s second cousins and a clue he had about my great great grandfathers’ nickname, which had been unknown to me, lead me to an elusive marriage record.  How exciting!

I’m currently focused on my father’s side of the family as some of his Virginia roots run back over 400 years.  I’d like to share some of the surnames those people:

Alexander
Blaylock (Blalock)
Davis
Denton
Funai
Jenkins
Leathers
Marchetti
McKenney (McKinney, McKenny, McKinny, etc.)
Mills
Thomas
Trent
Tyler
Utley
Willis

Do you and I have any names in common?

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

